Reusing red tape, and a rug

Washington DC is, quite literally, finding uses for red tape. I love this idea of reuse of old things that had a completely different life, once.

So the same thing happened with a bagful of fringe or tassel. A while ago I got some orange fringe at Fabmo, which we were going to use for the Scare Faire (as hair!). While a few people did take some as trim to their costumes and hair, I was left with a lot of tassel, and when my daughter and her friend were trying it on as a wig, it started to unravel. We soon found we could unravel the whole thing into a thick yarn! Then I was able to crochet the whole thing into a round mat. As a family we were guessing how wide it would become – which ended up being about 3 feet. It boasts a soft footing in the kitchen for all of us, now, a formerly bare floor.

What have you made into something different, or seen change into a new use?

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑